An Audience with Alrene Hughes

Alrene Hughes at Belfast Central Library

 

Libraries NI present An Audience with Alrene Hughes, author of the bestselling Martha’s Girls and the forthcoming The Golden Sisters

Alrene Hughes will be reading from The Golden Sisters as well as and will be available to chat and answer questions.

Belfast Central Library on Monday 9 March at 7pm

ADMISSION FREE | Booking advisable

Ask staff for details

T: 028 9050 9162

E: belfastlending@librariesni.org.uk

The Golden Sisters is a moving saga that takes the reader to the very heart of a close-knit, fiery, loving family perfect for fans of Maureen Lee, Mary Larkin and Pam Weaver. It s 1941 and German bombs are falling on Belfast. Martha s girls face danger, hardship and difficult decisions.

Irene, the eldest of the sisters, is struggling with the constraints of married life, until a chance meeting forces her to choose between romance and reality.

Pat, intelligent and sensitive, is working in Stormont alongside William Kennedy. As their relationship deepens, she feels that real happiness could be within her grasp.

Peggy, impulsive and glamorous, is thrilled when the charismatic Devlin offers her a job with the dance band at the Plaza Ballroom. But she soon sees his darker side…

Sheila, the youngest, is blossoming into a young woman, though her family seem intent on treating her like a child. When will they accept her for the grown-up she is?

Together, they are the Golden Sisters, singing their way to victory in concert halls and army camps. But the war is taking their lives in unexpected directions and Martha will need all her strength to help her girls find their way through these turbulent times.

Alrene Hughes Author Image

 

 

Share